Forum moved here!

Home / Sumatra PDF won’t open additional files with double click on PDF files

Abinas

I am using Sumatra PDF V-3.2 in Windows 10.

It happens frequently that if I have some files open (even just one) in Sumatra PDF, and I click on another PDF file in my file explorer (the standard double click), it doesn’t open, nothing happens. In order to open an additional file, I have to open file explorer from inside Sumatra app (using CTRL+O, which opens the file explorer) and select the files to open.

This doesn’t happen always, but now and then.

This issue wasn’t there before in earlier versions I used. I have been using this software since last 5 years, it worked pretty well before.

Sumatra is my only/default external PDF reader in my PC.

GitHubRulesOK

If your on Windows 10 as most users are, then it is not uncommon to have file association problems since MS defauled PDF as a native Edge file, It is still that way on my PC since I cant be bothered to keep reseting it except for some testing. I personally use shortcuts ( that can also fail to work since MS insist each one needs to be controlled) I dont have any of those issues on either Windows 7 systems.

Having said that, once the default is sucessfully set to SumatraPDF, it should always work, unless there is some older historic non working association available that windows in its wisdom, uses by preference.