Forum moved here!

Home / Search through all open documents

mdawid

Hi All,

i am using Sumatra PDF since years on a daily base. So far a great tool, that i don’t want to miss. Unfortunately, there is one feature, that i am missing in sumatra. I would like to enhance my search to all open documents. Currently afaik, i can only search the current tab.

Is there such a search option included? If not, could this be an enhancement?

Thanks and Regards,

mdawid

kjk

It’s not currently possible and not planned (it’s not easy to implement and I don’t understand the use case for it).

mdawid

As an engineer i have to regularly read through multiple specifications. Sometimes it’s easier to “search” all open documents, instead of opening each single tab and then search a term.

ianas

you can use the ifilter and search using explorer all pdf’s in a folder containing said text

mdawid

My documents are all in a different location on a network drive.

What is an iFilter?

SumatraPeter
  • While installing Sumatra, to install the IFilter click the Options button and select the Let Windows Desktop Search search PDF documents checkbox:

• Remember to install the 64-bit version of Sumatra if you’re running a 64-bit version of Windows, because the 32-bit version’s PdfFilter.dll will not work in 64-bit apps.

• Open the Indexing Options dialog via either the Start Menu/taskbar search box, Cortana, or the old Control Panel (in Win10) set to Large/Small Icons view.

• Click the Advanced button and on the File Types tab ensure that the pdf file format has the Reader Search Handler properly listed against it, and that the Index Properties and File Contents option is selected below:

• Back in the main Indexing Options dialog click the Modify button to add folders containing your PDFs to the search index.

• Wait for the Indexing complete message to be displayed at the top of the Indexing Options dialog.