Forum moved here!

Home / Resource usage when at end/beginning of file

Rik

Hi all,

First of all, thanks to everybody in this community for the development of SumatraPDF! I have been using it for several years now and I’m very happy about it: slim and fast.
Today I noticed that when I’m scrolling trough a PDF, I can see my GPU usage go up when I am scrolling, which perfect sense.
I noticed however that when I reached the top/bottom of the page and keep scrolling, the GPU usage stays high. The view does not change, since there is no new content to load, but somehow the GPU keeps rendering the same view. I would have expected that when I have reached the top and keep scrolling, the view would not be rendered. It’s a minor thing and not really an issue, but I thought it might be worth sharing.

Kind regards,

Rik

kjk

I’ve never done such profiling. Can you share your methodology i.e.:

• what software do you use for gpu profiling
  • how do you determine GPU activity comes from Sumatra and not other software?
  • which version of Sumatra did you profile
  • what hardware did you use to profile (i.e. which GPU card)
  • which OS version?
  • does it happen with every PDF or just one?

Sumatra doesn’t directly use GPU. Whatever GPU activity it’s there must be caused indirectly from using Windows API and we’re not doing anything advanced there either.

I wouldn’t expect any GPU activity once we stop rendering but I won’t exclude that possibility. Would have to dig deeper but like I said, so far I haven’t done GPU profiling at all.

Rik

Hi Krzysztof,

Thanks for your swift and elaborate reply. I dug a little deeper based on your questions. The problem only seems to be occurring when scrolling with a touchpad.

System: HP Elitebook 8570w, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M graphics card.
SumatraPDF version: 3.1.2 64-bit (latest)
PDF: any PDF I tried showed same behaviour