Forum moved here!

Home / Inverse search with winedt

mkova

Hello, I am new here and I am not even sure I set up my user name correctly. I have been using Sumatra with WinEdt for about 15 years and no problem. But I got a new laptop, reinstalled all the programs. Everything seems to be fine so far, but the only trouble is that the inverse search does not work. Any suggestions folks? I have the feeling I need to change a symbol somewhere, but where? Thanks. M

GitHubRulesOK

Well a lot has changed over those years EXCEPT the inverse code in SumatraPDF, however the suggested method of use has changed.

Supposedly IF SumatraPDF was installed before WinEdt it was as far as I know able to configure itself accordingly. but if you have installed WinEdt and customized parts its probably not wise to uninstall and reinstall in case I am wrong (long time since using the two).

The marriage is not a troublesome one but can be done several ways and suggestions to do it wrong are all over the web. Basically check the relevant doc suggestions at WinEdt help/web pages (do not look elsewhere) that should ensure it calls SumatraPDF the correct way.

“a more TeX-friendly viewer is Sumatra. Click on the Help button at WinEdt’s Options → Execution Modes| PDF Viewer for details (and check out the Help topic, Adobe Blues; use the Index).”

Now the tricky part is I have no idea what that is or where the inverse call needs to be directed.

So check its working forwards as expected with both a PDF and synctex file generated together in the same folder and double click the PDF text in SumatraPDF should trigger the inverse function, then we can take it from there if not working well.

I will need to know where WinEdt.exe is located to check any backwards miscalling

mkova

Thanks for replying. WinEdt was installed first. Sumatra give
"C:\Program Files\WinEdt Team\WinEdt 10\WinEdt.exe" -C="WinEdt 10.3" "Open(|%f|);SelPar(%l,8);]"